Changes to O’level English 1123 Paper Pattern

The paper pattern of O’level English 1123 Syllabus will change from 2018.

There are minor changes in the format of Directed & Creative Writing tasks in the Writing paper, but the tasks remain essentially the same. Creative Writing topics will be given genre wise, i.e. descriptive, narrative and argumentative topics will be explicitly categorised.

The reading paper has major changes in terms of format and marks. Note-taking task in the summary section will be of 12 marks now and paragraph summary task will be of 10 marks, instead of 5. The comprehension section will have a multiple choice Words Meaning Question, to the relief of many students, I believe. A question requiring meaning and effect analysis of given phrases from the text has been added.

Please find the specimen papers for the revised paper format below.

O’level English 1123 – Syllabus 2018 – 2020

English 1123 Revised Syllabus 2018 – Specimen Writing Paper

English 1123 Revised Syllabus 2018 – Specimen Writing Paper MS

English 1123 Revised Syllabus 2018 – Specimen Reading Paper

English 1123 Revised Syllabus 2018 – Specimen Reading Paper Insert

English 1123 Revised Syllabus 2018 – Specimen Reading Paper MS

 

22 Responses to Changes to O’level English 1123 Paper Pattern

  1. Annie says:

    Dear Mr Mohd. Younis,

    I used to receive emails from your blog updating me regarding O levels English. However, i don’t get any emails from you now. Hence I was very concerned as I am teaching students in Yr 10 and have to prepare them for the 2018 syllabus/exams.

    I had googled your name early this year but there were no updates then. I googled again today and to my relief, I saw the updates.
    Please give me your email address again. I notice it is not in my contact list. (I’m not sure what happened that it is missing.)
    I need to add it to my contact list so that emails from you dont get treated as spam.
    Thank you and i want to tell you once again that i really appreciate your kind work in helping us to be better teachers.
    God bless you
    I shall be checking this blog again to get your email address

    Annie

    • Dear Ms Annie,

      Thank you for your appreciation.

      I have been quite busy lately with my teaching commitments. I would be updating the blog soon insha’Allah.

      You can email me at younis.farid@gmail.com.

    • Humaira Ali - 50199/TCHR/MGB says:

      Dear Sir, I want to get some essays written by my students checked. Can I somehow send them to you for a second opinion. I will be obliged.

      On Fri, Mar 24, 2017 at 7:15 PM, Resources for CIE English Examinations wrote:

      > Annie commented: “Dear Mr Mohd. Younis, I used to receive emails from your > blog updating me regarding O levels English. However, i don’t get any > emails from you now. Hence I was very concerned as I am teaching students > in Yr 10 and have to prepare them for the 2018 syll” >

  2. Humaira says:

    A.o.a. This is Humaira. My first batch of students are sitting the CIEs this year. First of all I want to thank you for your website has been the best resource for me. Thank You. May Allah bless you and reward you for this service.
    Secondly, I have also heard the news about Account Writing. Can you please help confirm this. I have studied the syllabi of both 2018 and the previous one, none of them mention Account Writing specifically.
    Thanking You
    Humaira Ali

    • Walaikum Salam,

      I am pleased to hear about your first batch of students appearing for the examination. I wish them and you all the success.

      Unfortunately, I was not at the CIE Training Workshop, so I have also only heard about the Account Writing not being part of the syllabus anymore. I would advise you to teach the students about it just to be on the safe side.

  3. Shumaila says:

    Some people are mentioning that Account writing is out of 2018 syllabus as told in O Level workshop by British Council.Please comment.

  4. Yakub ali says:

    Mr Younis
    Thank You for the essentisl tips.

  5. Denise says:

    Dear Sir,

    I wish to thank you for providing such an excellent service. As a teacher in Malaysia, I have been blessed with such valuable resources.

  6. Morris Alwines says:

    Dear Younis,
    I want to thank you for providing an outstanding service to teachers like me in Brunei, with your easily accessible website. Keep up the wonderful work!
    Morris.

  7. Samia says:

    Aoa. Since we do not have any material according to the new syllabus, how should students prepare for their 2018 take? There’s just one specimen paper available online and new material needs to be generated. Is there any resource that can help us with this?

    • The major changes have been made to the Reading Paper, Section 2, and you need to prepare your own practice questions based on the previous past papers available.

      If I prepared or found any relevant practice material, I would be happy to share it with you here.

  8. Faiza Mukhtar says:

    Thanksss for update

  9. Annie says:

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for sharing all this valuable information. I really appreciate your kind and helpful effort

    Sincerely, 

    Annie

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

Leave a Reply

